London
etcetera@civilservicechoir.org.uk

This term

This term we shall be preparing music for Christmas (including Bach’s Christmas Oratorio and John Rutter’s What Sweeter Music), but the immediate priority will be the repertoire for our jazz concert in November which is Bob Chilcott – A Little Jazz Mass; and Will Todd – Songs of Love, Amazing Grace.

Click here for a Spotify playlist

You can also hear us performing A Little Jazz Mass on Youtube.

Still to come

  • Thu 14 Nov 5.15-6.30pm repertoire session (venue advised)
  • Mon 18 Nov 12.45-1.45pm rehearsal at the Sacred Heart Church
  • Mon 18 Nov 5.15-6.30pm repertoire session (venue advised)
  • Sat 23 Nov 2-4pm rehearsal (venue advised)
  • Sat 23 Nov 5pm-6.30pm dress rehearsal at St John’s Smith Square
  • Sat 23 Nov 7.30pm The Voices of Jazz, EFG London Jazz Festival 2019 at St John’s Smith Square.

Concert blacks with blue accessory (e.g. scarf) / dark suits, white shirt with blue tie. Black choir folders.

  • Mon 25 Nov 12.45-1.45pm rehearsal at the Sacred Heart Church
  • Thu 28 Nov 5.15-6.30pm repertoire session (venue advised)
  • Sun 1 Dec 1-2pm & 3-4pm Carols and Christmas music at the Victoria and Albert Museum, South Kensington (followed by choir social)
  • Mon 2 Dec 12.45-1.45pm rehearsal at the Sacred Heart Church
  • Mon 2 Dec 5.15-6.30pm repertoire session (venue advised)
  • Thu 5 Dec 12.15-1pm dress rehearsal at St Stephen’s, Rochester Row
  • Thu 5 Dec 7.00pm Yuletide Comfort and Joy at St Stephen’s, Rochester Row
  • Mon 9 Dec 12.45-1.45pm rehearsal at the Sacred Heart Church
  • Wed 11 Dec 5-5.30pm GIAA Christmas event
  • Thu 12 Dec lunchtime carol service at 2 Marsham Street
  • Mon 16 Dec 12.30-1.45pm dress rehearsal at St Stephen’s, Rochester Row
  • Tue 17 Dec 1.00pm Carol service at St Stephen’s, Rochester Row
  • Mon 6 Jan 12.45-1.45pm rehearsal at the Sacred Heart Church
  • Mon 13 Jan 12.45-1.45pm rehearsal at the Sacred Heart Church
  • Wed 15 Jan 7-9.30pm provisional rehearsal with soloists and orchestra (involvement of the choir to be confirmed)
  • Sat 18 Jan 10.30am-5pm all day workshop (venue to be advised)
  • Mon 20 Jan 12.45-1.45pm rehearsal at the Sacred Heart Church
  • Wed 22 Jan 12.30-2pm dress rehearsal at St John’s Smith Square
  • Thu 23 Jan 1.05pm Bach Weihnachts-Oratorium concert at St John’s Smith Square